75 WORD BIO

Putting real life into film, podcasting to extend the narrative, captivating social network audiences, Google mapping the audience demand for a theatrical release and digitally distributing to millions of internet viewers around the world.   The pioneering efforts of Arin Crumley haven’t gone un-noticed as Indiewire, MovieMaker, The Wall Street Journal, The Spirit Awards, The Sundance Channel, IFC TV, & many others have jumped into the echo chamber further demonstrating all that new media has to offer.

185 WORD BIO

Today The Wall Street Journal lists Arin among the top 20 new media moguls, and applauds the co-creation of the popular independent film and online video series, Four Eyed Monsters.  The film won the Sundance Channel Audience Award and was nominated for two spirit awards.  Millions of viewers have engaged across multiple mediums with the project from podcasting, to MySpace to YouTube, facebook & twitter.  The community around the film has participated in DIY theatrical screenings around the world and the audience has created material that has been put back into the project.  The phenomena of Four Eyed Monsters has also attracted deals to air the film on IFC TV and the Super Channel as well as other foreign distribution interest.

Continuing his exploration into new media Arin also co-founder a research and development project called From Here to Awesome which has been uniting filmmakers to create the future models of collaboration, funding, production and distribution.  All of this has lead to the development of many future films and interactive experiences to come.  Keep track of all Arin’s projects and ideas on his blog at arincrumley.com

ANYONE CAN USE THIS PHOTO, JUST CREDIT MIKE HEDGE, CLICK FOR VARIOUS RESOLUTIONS:

 Photo by Mike Hedge of Arin Crumley at 2008 YouTube meet the filmmakers event in CA

Q&A:

1. What excites you about the future? 

I’d like to have a list of all the films I’ve ever had the notion of wanting to see stored in my pocket at all times and to be able to program an alert that I want to go off when I’m walking past an underground movie theater that will be showing one of those films in 20 minutes.  I also want to see myself and others shooting video on topics we are passionate about and then digital connections sending material straight from the camera to online environments where people can immediately start commenting on various aspects of the footage and integrating the material into films edited by hundreds of online collaborators.  

2. What’s something you wish you would have known before you found out the hard way? 

Thought shall not make thy movie with thine credit card.

3. What’s on your playlist, reading list, or in your movie queue? 

I loved David Lynch’s Book Catching The Big Fish and am often listening to my Radio Head, Beck and anything else more obscure I can find, especially when I know the musician or they find me online and say it’s alright to use their music in films.  My movie queue is so back logged that I can’t even begin to go into it, although I can say that I’ve been carrying The Cell around in my bag for the past 2 weeks excited by the notion I’ll soon have time to watch it.

4. What’s a site you couldn’t live without? 

I’d have a tough time without gmail and facebook since they are the main ways I stay in touch with everyone.  I love the feature of being able to send a text message from my Gmail to other peoples phones and a number of the other Lab functions I’ve switched on to experiment with.  I also am just super pumped about twitter.  The idea of a micro-blog is great.  It’s showing us that it’s the little things that sometimes count the most.  It also makes me feel that from my cell phone I can keep tabs on letting people know what I’m up to.  On twitter I feel like I’m really a part of something while at the same time nothing is expected of me because if I don’t post anything, I know that everyone else has it all covered.

5. What are you currently working on? 

I’ve started a new company called The CoCreate Inc which is handling the continued self distribution of Four Eyed Monsters and using the relationships being formed with iTunes, Netflix, DogWoof, and other marketing and distribution services to provide a pipeline in which future projects will be able to be pumped into.  I’m also developing several media experiences that will unfold in the coming months.  I’m being lead to all of my upcoming projects by the various interests I have including Filmmaking, Burning Man, Video Journalism, Cooking, Music, Collaboration, Modern Romance, and Consciousness.

LINKS:

BLOG:  http://arincrumley.com
MICRO-BLOG:  http://twitter.com/arincrumley
FRIENDS & PICS:  http://facebook.com/arincrumley
FILM: http://foureyedmonsters.com
NEW PROJECT:  http://asthedustsettles.com

RECENT PRESS: 

Movie Maker Magazine’s Cover Story (July 2009)

Filmmaker Magazine’s Comparison between Steven Soderberg’s & Arin Crumley’s use of the Red Camera (Nov 2008)

