DIYDays Boston

Originally uploaded by stevegarfield

Great attendance, great vibe and a really cool conversation. Todd Dagres really grabbed my attention and woke me up and gave me that feeling of, “oh my god guys, this is a DIY DAYS event!”

I loved hearing lance break down all of the traditional deal land mines and how to navigate them and then how to just ultimately say forget all that and just go direct to audience.

And there was an amazing session at the end of the day brainstorming distribution ideas for David Tames film “Smile Boston Project“. Every body in that room was really smart!

And it was great to see an honest discussion by the filmmakers in From Here to Awesome about what it was like to deliver their films to all these digital portals as well as what they’ve learned from this process.  The whole experience they reported supports directly the future direction we’ve been planning to take From Here to Awesome.

And scott kirsner stole my thunder!  He was leaning over my shoulder as I was preparing my notes for my presentation, literally, and then he went up and hit everything I was about to talk about but in a much more well researched way.  But I didn’t let that stop me and talked about the same concepts but in my own kind of different way.  But seriously, this is a guy that really gets it all and I saw a copy of his new book Inventing The Movies as he sold it to an eager filmmaker.

When it was all over I had the same feeling I have at the end of each DIY DAYS event. My brain is fried, huge head ache, but totally jacked up and high off of all the good ideas that get thrown around. Truly an altered state of mind. I think I like it.

Thanks to everyone who participated in the event, volunteered, bought DIY DAYS DVDS and be on the look out for high quality videos online of all the talks and soon a DVD with our NYC, Boston and London DIY DAYS presentations all mashed up into volume 2 of the workbook project DIYDAYS DVD.